winterTitle/ The Fox and The Snowman  / Author/ Angela Muse / Illustrator/ Helen Wu/ Publisher/4EYESBOOKS  / Publishing Date/October 2015  / Length/ 28 pages / Recommended Ages/ up to age 8

Amazon / Goodreads / Barnes & Noble


Recently, this blog was part of a book blitz for The Fox and The Snowman. The cover was so enchanting, I did something I never ever do. I paid money for a book specifically to review it. The story is deceptively simple and told in rhyme. It tells the tale of a young male fox in the forest as the seasons change. The perfect bedtime story for winter time.

61yuS-v0PxL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_What makes this book so special though is the illustrations. Each one is more amazing than the last. Watching my son’s reactions to the artwork was the best part. Though he gives every book he reviews his full attention, it was easy to see he saw a baby book that wasn’t going to hold his interest for more than a few moments. The artwork had him hanging on for each turn of the page, and I know in his part of this review he will have much to say about it.

 


I happy that we chose this book to be included in our showcase. This bookworm awards “The Fox and the Snowman” 5 Tomes
5 stars


Goodreads Summary: This is a story of a lone fox and his journey through a year of changing seasons. He discovers friendship and family in this colorful winter tale.

Author Info: http://4eyesbooks.com
I was born in California to a military family. This meant that I was the “new kid” in school every couple of years. It was hard always trying to make new friends, but I discovered I had a knack for writing. I began writing poetry in high school and really enjoyed expressing myself by using pen and paper. After becoming a Mom in 2003, I continued my storytelling to my own children. In 2009 I wrote and published my first children’s book aimed at toddlers. In 2012 I am set to release several more children’s books. Check out what I’m working on by visiting my children’s book blog.

I also write a blog about living on a gluten-free diet. I love to cook so I share my recipe successes and failures as I continue living without gluten.

Writing is such a wonderful creative process and I look forward to sharing more of my stories with lots of new little readers!

___________________________________________________________________

Christmas reads

Fun Fact: This book was published on my twelfth birthday

613015688c8b535322bbd05412a33994

5- Readability/ The story is delightful, and I really enjoyed the rhyme.

5- Age Appropriate/ This is wonderful bedtime story ages 2-8

10- Illustrations/ Wonderful, amazing, realistic. The details are mind-blowing. Each part of the story is beautifully shared in pictures. My favorite is the fox cuddling with his friend. Olaf would be jealous.

5- Holds Interest/ The rhyming was wonderful and I enjoyed the progression of the year, the talk of colors and so on.five

4-Did I Like It?/ I did like it, but since the snowman was in the title I had hoped he would come back and meet the foxes family somehow.

 

