lian asks

Today we welcome author Bradford G. Wheler and his answers to 5 Questions.

Mr. Bradford is releasing his new book, Mongolia and the Golden Eagle this month. You can see our Spotlight and Giveaway for the book here and later read our review.


About The Author:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

BRADFORD G. WHELER is the former CEO, President and Co-owner of Allan Electric Company. He sold Allan Electric to a New York Stock Exchange listed company. After staying on as President during the transition, Brad retired. Brad’s lifelong love of history, art, books, and the inherent humor in man’s nature led to the founding of BookCollaborative.com and the publishing of MONGOLIA AND THE GOLDEN EAGLE: An Archaeological Mystery Thriller, as well as INCA’S DEATH CAVE An Archaeological Mystery Thriller, LOVE SAYINGS: wit & wisdom of romance, courtship, & marriage, GOLF SAYINGS: wit & wisdom of a good walk spoiled, “CAT SAYINGS: wit & wisdom from the whiskered ones, HORSE SAYINGS: wit & wisdom straight from the horse’s mouth, DOG SAYINGS: wit & wisdom from man’s best friend, and SNAPPY SAYINGS: wit & wisdom from the world’s greatest minds. His community involvements include being a Trustee of Community General Hospital in Hamilton, NY, and chairing their Finance Committee. He is the former Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Cazenovia College, and former Chairman and member of the Board of Directors and Alumni Association and President of the Sigma Phi Society at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY. He is also a former member of the Board of Directors of the Greater Cazenovia Area Chamber of Commerce and several other boards. Brad played polo on the Cornell University men’s polo team for four years and was a member of the Cazenovia Polo Club. In 2012 he was inducted into the Manlius Pebble Hill Athletic Hall of Fame. He holds a BS and ME in Civil and Environmental Engineering from Cornell University in Ithaca, NY as well as an MBA degree from Fordham University in New York, NY. He is a licensed Professional Engineer.
Brad, his wife, Julie, and their golden retriever Finlay live in Cazenovia, NY and Fort Pierce, FL.

Contact Info: Website / Facebook

 


5 Questions:
1.What does it mean to you to be called an author?

I’m still working out the answer to that question. MONGOLIA AND THE GOLDEN EAGLE an archaeological mystery thriller is my ninth published book but I don’t get up in the morning and think of myself as an author. I’m actually quite surprised by how much I enjoy writing and publishing.

2. If you could have lunch with 3 authors (past and present) who would they be and what do you think you would all talk about during lunch?

This is a very interesting question and I would need a time machine to actually do it. My three would be Winston Churchill, Mark Twain, and Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra. Even though these three lived hundreds of years apart they all had great insight into human nature. Many of their insights are as true today as they were when they were alive. What ever our lunch conversation was and where it went I’m sure it would be fascinating.

3. Who do your stories appeal to?

I write two types of books, my novels and my themed art quotation books. My novels don’t fit exactly into one genre. I call them archaeological mystery thrillers. They are a bit heavy on archaeology, history, and technology. There is always more than one mystery and there are thrilling parts. But the books are not thrillers in the sense of having blood, guts, shootings, and bombings on every page. The characters are not supermen like James Bond and many of Clive Cussler’s who escape dead every few pages in the most unlikely ways. (That’s not a negative on Fleming and Cussler I’ve read most of both their books and enjoy them.) While gifted and talented my characters are people who could and probably do exist.

So I guess my novels appeal to people who enjoy interesting but believable characters in interesting places, who solve historic mysteries using science and technology while overcoming thrilling dangers.

One reviewer called my novels “A thinking man’s Indiana Jones.”

4. Which of your current works in progress are you most passionate about?

My next novel, it is currently just a jumble of ideas in my head. I can’t wait to get going on it.

5. How do you avoid or defeat writers block?

I do three things. I take long walks and just think about where I want the story to go. Next I go and do more research. Then I sit my butt down and make myself keep writing.


Book Information:

perf5.500x8.500.indd

About the book:
Genre: Suspense/ Thriller
Publisher: BookCollaborative.com
Date of publish: February 2016
Pages: 224
Book Links: Amazon / Goodreads / Barnes & Noble /  Riffle

 

