lian asks

Today I am sharing Cathy Ace’s answers to 5 Questions. Cathy Ace is the author of The Cait Morgan Mysteries. The latest is to be released on April 5 and is called  The Corpse with Garnet Face. You can read the review by clicking the link.


About The Author:


2cathy
Originally from Wales, now-Canadian Cathy Ace writes the Cait Morgan Mysteries. Her series has found her criminal psychologist, foodie sleuth stumbling upon Corpses with a Silver Tongue , a Golden Nose, an Emerald Thumb, Platinum Hair, Sapphire Eyes,  Diamond Hand and, now Garnet Face, a during her globetrotting. The winner of The Bony Blithe Award for Best Light Mystery in 2015, when not helping Cait solve traditional, closed-circle mysteries, Cathy’s a keen gardener, ably assisted by her green-pawed chocolate Labradors.

 

Author Links: Website Facebook / Twitter /Goodreads


5 Questions:


 

Thanks for inviting me along today – and for asking such interesting questions.

To start with can you tell us a little about yourself and the project we are seeing today?

THE CORPSE WITH THE GARNET FACE is the seventh in the Cait Morgan Mysteries series. Cait Morgan is a Welsh Canadian professor of criminal psychology who specializes in victim profiling. She also loves to eat and drink her way around the world, and manages to discover a puzzling murder mystery wherever she goes (thank goodness!). In this book Cait is drawn into the world of art – one of my own passions!

What does it mean to you to be called an author?
Cathy- It means I’m one of the luckiest people in the world! Before I started writing the Cait Morgan Mysteries I’d seen nine textbooks I’d written on the shelves of bookstores – but nothing beats the buzz of creating fiction.

Lian- Nine text books is still something pretty cool, but I imagine fiction is more fun.
If you could have lunch with 3 authors (past and present) who would they be and what do you think you would all talk about during lunch?

I’d like to lunch with Agatha Christie, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and William Shakespeare. I have a feeling I wouldn’t say much – I’d be too much in awe of them all, but I’d like to ask them about how they managed to keep their work so fresh over their tremendous output.

-Can I come too? That would be a great question, they all seemed to be a bottlomless pit of great ideas.
Apart from writing and reading, what are your other hobbies or interests?

I’m an avid gardener. Writing is a pretty sedentary thing to do, but gardening is far from it. I’m fortunate enough to live on five acres of beautiful British Columbia, which means I am able to have a garden that enjoys a temperate climate, so there really isn’t much I can’t grow, About three of the five acres are what I would call “actively gardened” with a couple of acres being naturally treed. I have to admit that a day in the garden means I’m in agony for a while, my my goodness, the rewards are well worth it.

-Sounds like a wonderful place to spend time and well worth the effort.

How do you write your books?

There’s a term “pantster” for people who write by the seat of their pants, and then the more familiar “plotter”. I am a plotter. I try to write a book within which all actions and reactions flow from the psychology of each character – so I find it impossible to go back at the end of the book merrily inserting clues and red herrings. I plot everything before I begin -for me, it works.

-That sounds like a good plan if you write mysteries. I would be a pantster. Mom always help me outline stuff, but I usually just start writing.

How do you avoid or defeat writers block?

I’m delighted to say I’ve never experienced it – yet. My head is bursting with ideas, and all I lack is the time to write them all down and develop them. I wish there were more hours in the day (or more hours in the day when I didn’t have to do other things). Sometimes I struggle with a phrase, or even a scene, but my overall method of writing is to begin by allowing a movie to run in my head – by the time I get to the end of the movie I’m ready to sit down, write the outline, the plot, the character’s backgrounds, do the research I need to do and then write the book. My ultimate aim is to get the movie in my head onto the screen in front of me, without the words getting in the way. I’m trying to write a book that readers experience, rather than making them feel they have read something.

-Awesome way of looking at the process.


 

Thank You Cathy Ace, for answering my questions!!

You can find the Cait Morgan Mysteries at Amazon and other book retailers and The Corpse with the Garnet Face is available for pre-order.

garnet-face

 

 

 

Book Links:Amazon / Barnes & Noble / IndieBound / Kobo

 

 

 

